OEA Special Education Work Group


Congratulations to the following OEA Members who have been selected to serve on the OEA Special Education Work Group:

✦ Kathy Abrahamson, Newton Falls ACE, NEOEA
✦ Traci Arway, Columbus EA, Capital
✦ Jane Barnes, Springfield EA – Lucas, NWOEA
✦ Crystal Boyd, Hudson EA, NEOEA
✦ Amber Clark, South Western EA, Central
✦ Megan Flowers, Columbus EA, Capital
✦ Stacy Gibbs, Preble-Shawnee Local EA, WOEA
✦ Theresa Grubaugh-Alai, Brecksville-Broadview Heights EA, NEOEA
✦ Jessica James, Mayfield EA, NEOEA
✦ Jennifer Krause, Fairfield CTA-Butler, SWOEA
✦ Wendy Shubrowsky, Medina City TA, NEOEA

If you have comments or questions, please contact OEA President, Becky Higgins, or Education Policy and Practice Consultant, Daria DeNoia.

During the December 2017 OEA Representative Assembly, members passed the following New Business Item (NBI):

Create an OEA Special Education Work Group to develop recommendations for professional development programs, sample contract language, OEA Resolutions, and OEA Legislative Policies that would address the needs of OEA members involved in or supporting education programs for students with special needs.

OEA needs our members working as special education educators and service providers to share their expertise, experiences, knowledge and insight. Applications for this Special Education Work Group are being accepted through April 27, 2018. Your completed application will include:

Please note that participation on the OEA Special Education Work Group will require face-to-face meetings in Columbus that will occur during school hours, and virtual meetings that will occur after school hours. Please consider your availability to participate in those meetings prior to applying.

Please contact Daria DeNoia at denoiad@ohea.org if you have questions or concerns.

Links also available on the OEA homepage at https://ohea.org/.