OASNP 2022 Annual Special Education Conference Member Forum at OEA Summer Leadership Conference Minutes

By: Kathy Abrahamson

Conference notes of OASNP Member Forum at the OEA Leadership Academy. The Annual Special Education Conference was not held at via Zoom as planned for late February, but rescheduled for immediately at the conclusion of the OEA Leadership Academy.

Friday, June 17, 1:00-2:30 PM - Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

This was a drive-in meeting – Members were not required to register or attend the OEA Academy.

"Teamwork Makes the Dream Work" – An open forum brainstorming session (16 Attendees):

- special education personnel discussing
 - working across job descriptions
 - utilizing community resources
 - encouraging parent involvement

Available for download on OASNP website:

- Conference Notes
- Flipchart Sheets

General Membership Meeting:

Election of Officers for our Executive Board.

Two-year terms – beginning immediately.

All elected by acclamation:

- Chairperson Christina West PCEMR-SSA (Portage CBDD)
- Vice-Chairperson Nikki Nadasky PCEMR-SSA (Portage CBDD)
- Treasurer Sandy Smith Fischer Streetsboro EA
- Secretary Kathy Abrahamson Newton Falls ACE
- At-Large Representative #1 Marchell Josie East Cleveland EA
- At-Large Representative #2 Debbie VanGorder Ashtabula ACSE
- At-Large Representative #3 Kendall Newell West Carrollton EA
- At-Large Representative #4 Jovita Wade Fairborn EA
- At-Large Representative #5 Cindy Negulescu Reynoldsburg SSA
- At-Large Representative #6 Chase Douglas Dayton EA (Educ of Montgomery Co)
- OASMP Executive Board, November 19, 2022:
 - Chase Douglas ineligible to serve.
 - Appointed to fill vacancy:
 - Leslie Frank Summit Co. Weaver Wksh Sup Assn Retired (Summit CBDD)